really good news

Dear, dear friends, who have walked with me along this strange road, I have waited until today to post. Today Mary, my brain doctor’s nurse, called to tell me that the MRI I had yesterday was clear. Clean. I don’t have to be re-checked until December.

Meanwhile, I have been drinking in the days post-Kadcyla. I had almost forgotten what it felt like to be chemo-free. Every day I feel a little better, a little more energy and alive. I don’t take naps anymore. I still get Herceptin every 3 weeks, but that is not a big deal. My cancer markers are staying down in the normal range and nobody is pushing me to go back onto the Kadcyla.

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.32.43 PM

With the hip replacement, I know that I will never be a walker. I can walk short distances no problem, but I don’t want to walk the length of the mall. I am compensating with swimming. I spend an hour a day in the water and feel really good. I can feel myself getting stronger, having more air.

I think it is time for this blog to end. I’m keeping track of other things on my new blog – for photos and musings and the like, at SHOOFOONEWS.

This morning I woke up with the strong sense that we are a people given the gift of each other just so that we can make it down the road. This could very well be Holy Spirit. I love all of you. Thank you for being you, and for being with me.

One thought on “really good news

Leave a Reply

